This Week on Twitter…

 

Image

Twitter Caption: “Police help couple do yoga with proper form #myNYPD”

It’s interesting how a social network like Twitter can have such an impact on reputation. That may have been the corniest starting sentence I have ever written in my life… I kind of want to delete it. Anyway– my first topic this week is about the #MyNYPD story that I have seen on my feed a couple of times this week. Basically, NYPD wanted to get a hash tag going where people can post their pictures with NYPD. Some of the Tweets were what they were hoping for, pictures of smiling tourists and random people posing for a picture with a NY police officer. Meanwhile, others were posting horrible pictures with sarcastically hilarious captions in order to bash the NYPD. Personally, I think the hash tag idea was a rookie mistake for them, especially because they are the police force… in New York. Save the hash tag promos for something/ someone that won’t get so much scrutiny– like Rita’s.

ImageImageA big trend among college students for a while now, at least at Bloomsburg anyway, is the site BuzzFeed. BuzzFeed is just a perfect blend of serious news, celebrity news, quizzes, trending topics, videos, and so much more. Their texting and Tweeting posts (such as the ones I have included) are probably one of my favorite things that they post on Twitter, they’re hilarious! Personally, I started off as just checking in when I had nothing to do in class or was distracted from studying in the library.  But I have found myself going on it more often lately, specifically because my friends and people who I follow on social networks are constantly posting things from their site. So that was my shout out to BuzzFeed! BuzzFeed, if you are looking for an intern or a fresh-faced employee, call me. 🙂

I want to end this post with saying– why do people care so much about celebrity haircuts? I scrolled through the trending feed on Twitter and saw like 3 haircut stories over the course of a couple of weeks. I don’t understand… it is a haircut, we all get them. I get why people were freaking out when Brittany Spears shaved her head… but a haircut? There are so many more things to talk about with celebrity news and a change in their hair is something that makes the cut as newsworthy? I want to say I wish people cared that much when I got a haircut, but I honestly don’t… I think I would be more concerned than flattered. Get it together people!

 

*Images from this week’s post are from USA Today and BuzzFeed!*

 

 

Leave a comment